Multi-Akteurs-Partnerschaften MSP Profile “German Initiative on Sustainable Cocoa (GISCO)”

Homepage MSP Profile “German Initiative on Sustainable Cocoa (GISCO)”

MSP Profile “German Initiative on Sustainable Cocoa (GISCO)”

German Initiative on Sustainable Cocoa (GISCO)

  • To improve the living conditions of cocoa farmers and their families and to contribute to livelihood security
  • To conserve natural resources and biodiversity in the producing countries
  • To increase the proportion of sustainable cocoa in production and marketing

What is German Initiative on Sustainable Cocoa (GISCO) doing to achieve its goal?

  • Côte d’Ivoire, which produces more than 50% of the cocoa processed in Germany, is GISCO’s first partner country. Members’ activities in this major cocoa-producing country are centred around PRO-PLANTEURS, a joint project implemented in conjunction with the Conseil du Café-Cacao in Côte d’Ivoire. The project will professionalise 20,000 cocoa-producing families and their organisations, ultimately benefiting 100,000 people in Côte d’Ivoire’s cocoa belt, with a particular focus on women and young farmers. The aim is to increase productivity and quality in the cocoa sector, diversify production and improve food security.
  • GISCO has a local employee in Côte d’Ivoire and thus has a direct contact to local activities.
  • GISCO also supports the Certification Capacity Enhancement (CCE) Initiative in West Africa, which has already provided training for more than 90,000 farmers and introduced them to the concept of sustainability certification.
  • GISCO aims to promote networking and cooperation with present and future sustainable cocoa farming initiatives.
  • GISCO hosts events and is actively engaged in media and PR activities to raise awareness of its work and of progress towards more sustainability in the cocoa belt.

How does German Initiative on Sustainable Cocoa (GISCO) work together in partnership to achieve its goal?

  • The German Initiative on Sustainable Cocoa (GISCO) was launched in June 2012 and became a registered association in April 2014. It is an alliance of the German confectionery industry and retail grocery trade, civil society organisations and the German Government, represented by the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) and the Federal Ministry of Food and Agriculture (BMEL).
  • GISCO’s activities are coordinated and governed by the General Meeting, working groups and the Steering Committee.
  • The Steering Committee is elected annually by the General Meeting and comprises two members from each of the four stakeholder groups: industry, trade, policy and civil Society.
  • GISCO is coordinated by a Secretariat hosted by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH.

How is German Initiative on Sustainable Cocoa (GISCO) financed?

The association is funded by fixed membership contributions. Members and third parties are at liberty to make additional contributions in support of GISCO’s activities. Prior to being registered as an association, GISCO and its activities were funded by the German Federal Ministry of Food and Agriculture (BMEL), the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) and the confectionery industry and retail grocery trade. GISCO has been chosen as the German Government’s 2016 lighthouse project for the National Sustainable Development Strategy.

• ACTIV IN •

• PARTNERS •

• RELEVANT SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT GOALS (SDG) •

• LINK •

• CONTACT •

Recommend page:

Multi-Akteurs-Partnerschaften Forum Nachhaltiger Kakao

Startseite Forum Nachhaltiger Kakao

Forum Nachhaltiger Kakao

Forum Nachhaltiger Kakao

• SDG •

Ziele

  • Die Lebensumstände der Kakaobauern und ihrer Familien zu verbessern und zu einem gesicherten Lebensunterhalt beizutragen.
  • Die natürlichen Ressourcen und die Biodiversität in den Anbauländern zu schonen und zu erhalten.
  • Den Anbau und die Vermarktung nachhaltig erzeugten Kakaos zu erhöhen.

Was wir machen

  • Die Côte d‘Ivoire, aus der über 50 % des in Deutschland verarbeiteten Kakaos kommt, ist das erste Partnerland des Forums. Über ein gemeinsames Projekt PRO-PLANTEURS mit dem Conseil du Café-Cacao in der Côte d’Ivoire engagieren sich die Mitglieder in dem größten Kakaoerzeugerland vor Ort. Das Projekt zielt auf die Professionalisierung von 20.000 Bauernfamilien und Organisationen, die wiederum 100.000 Menschen aus den Kakaoanbaugebieten erreichen. Besondere Beachtung finden Frauen und junge Farmer. Ziel ist es, die Produktivität und Qualität im Kakaosektor zu erhöhen, die Produktion zu diversifizieren sowie die Ernährungssituation zu verbessern.
  • Das Forum hat einen lokalen Mitarbeiter in der Côte d’Ivoire und ist so direkt mit den Geschehnissen vor Ort verbunden.
  • Das Forum unterstützt des Weiteren die Certification Capacity Enhancement (CCE) Initiative in Westafrika. Eine Initiative über die bereits mehr als 90.000 Bauern trainiert und an Nachhaltigkeitszertifizierungen herangeführt werden.
  • Das Forum will sich mit den bestehenden und künftigen Initiativen für nachhaltigen Kakaoanbau vernetzen und mit ihnen kooperieren.
  • Durch Veranstaltungen und aktiver Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit informiert das Forum über seine Arbeit und die Fortschritte für mehr Nachhaltigkeit in den Anbauregionen.

Governance-Strukturen

  • Das Forum Nachhaltiger Kakao wurde im Juni 2012 gegründet und ist seit April 2014 ein eingetragener Verein. Mitglieder im Forum Nachhaltiger Kakao e.V. sind Unternehmen der Süßwarenindustrie und des Lebensmittelhandels, zivilgesellschaftliche Organisationen sowie die Bundesregierung (vertreten durch BMZ und BMEL).
  • Die Aktivitäten des Forums werden durch die Mitgliederversammlung, Arbeitsgruppen und den Vorstand geplant und gesteuert.
  • Der Vorstand setzt sich zusammen aus jeweils zwei Vertretern der vier Akteursgruppen – Bundesregierung, deutsche Kakao- und Süßwarenindustrie, deutsche Lebensmittelhandel und Zivilgesellschaft – und wird jährlich im Rahmen der Mitgliederversammlung gewählt.
  • Für die Koordination des Forums Nachhaltiger Kakao e.V. ist die Geschäftsstelle zuständig, die bei der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) angebunden ist.

Beauftragung/Ressourcen

Der Verein trägt sich durch festgelegte Mitgliedsbeiträge. Mitglieder und Dritte können die Aktivitäten des Forums durch weitere Beiträge unterstützen. Bis zur Vereinsgründung wurden das Forum und seine Aktivitäten vom Bundesministerium für Ernährung und Landwirtschaft (BMEL), vom Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) sowie von der Süßwarenindustrie und dem Lebensmittelhandel finanziert. Das Forum Nachhaltiger Kakao e.V. ist als Leuchtturmprojekt der Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie der Bundesregierung für das Jahr 2016 ausgezeichnet worden.

• PARTNER •

• HAUPTAKTIVITÄT •

• LINK •

• KONTAKT •

Diese Seite weiterempfehlen: